Northumbria Seascape

I stood on the rock looking out to sea.
I saw a rainbow above the distant waters and it was beautiful.
The rock was my safety.
The churning waters left me untouched.

Then the tide rushed in and I almost lost my footing.
I couldn’t see the rock but I knew it was still there beneath me.
As I regained my balance, I took pride in my ability to stand firm on the rock that was no longer visible.
But as I looked out to sea, the rainbow faded and the sky darkened.

Then the whole earth shook, the waters churned, and I fell to my hands and knees,
clinging on yet choking on the crashing waves.
I began to lose my grip, flung back and forth in the deepening waters.
Above me only black sky and pouring rain.

I cried out ‘why is this happening to me? Where is my strength, my security, my hope?’

And I saw a figure walking on the waters. ‘Come with me, I am here,’ he said.

But I was afraid.

‘I am your way forward, I am your hope and your strength.
You thought you would find me only on the rock, in your place of safety.
But you will find me on the waters too.
Keep your eyes on me and walk with me, it is time to walk upon the waters.’


Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Saviour

(Hillsong: Oceans)

